A New Adventure Begins

First, I want to state that there is a big part of me that wants to apologize for not posting in a long time.  I received so much wonderful support and love for my last big post from everyone and I kept meaning to write something new, but I just didn’t have the time or energy.  So I want to apologize for that, but I won’t, because I don’t have anything to be sorry for.  (I’m trying to apologize less in general so just… go with me on this).  I’ve been busy.  We opened Triassic Parq a week ago and have received RAVE reviews (go see it, seriously, it’s amazing, I love it), and I recently got a promotion that has led to a lot more work but also more fun and enjoyment of a job I never thought I’d have.  So things have been a little cray.

crazy animated GIF

But I’m BACK, BABY. After a not-so-successful attempt (about 9lbs over 5 weeks, which sounds good, but it could’ve been better…)  at eating completely healthy, working out six times a week, and keeping my sanity (now that i look back on it, WHAT THE EFF WAS I THINKING, YALL??!!) I’m back to living like a normal person.  I’m eating full meals, I’m doing my job(s) every day, and I’m enjoying life.  BUT I’m also making healthier choices.  I work out when I can (classes, elliptical, going for a long walk or bike ride) and I’m eating better and tracking EVERYTHING.  How do I do that, you ask?  Why, Weight Watchers, of course!

weight loss animated GIF

Yes, I’ve decided to rejoin for a third time.  Some may laugh and scoff at the idea of a bunch of heavy women sitting around a room on creaking chairs, crying about their love of cinnamon rolls and whining about how hard it is to pick light string cheese over a whole block of heavy cheddar, but it’s so much more than that!  We bitch about carbs, too!  Just kidding.  I actually really enjoy my weekly meetings over there because I’m very much a “group mentality” person when it comes to positivity.  If I am struggling with something, say, my weight, then having the knowledge that I’m not alone in it seems to take some of the burden off my shoulders.  “Oh, you hate getting up in the morning, too?”  “Wait, you can substitute applesauce for WHAT?” (FUN FACT: applesauce can be substituted for basically anything it seems)  And everyone there is close to my age!  And they have the same struggles and problems as I do!  And SOME OF THEM have conquered them!  Maybe I can, too!

fist pump animated GIF

The first time I did WW, I lost about 30lbs in three months.  And I don’t think that I had ever been happier.  Not because I looked skinnier or anything (because I really didn’t) but I just felt healthier.  My body was responding to a new way of working in a very positive way, and the rest of the world responded.  So this time, I’m hoping I can continue that momentum straight to my goal.  (100lbs, down to 148.  This is a possible, reasonable, and personal goal.  Doctor me all you want, this is where I want to be.  And with no timeline, I know I can get there).

So that’s where I am now.  209 days sober, 5 days into WW, and completely ready to take on yet another challenge.

excited animated GIF

-E Daly

One comment

  1. Mary Daly · September 25, 2015

    Good for you bear! Excellent as usual!!😘

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

